Compassion in care event | Diabetogenic

0
93

[ad_1]

A very quick post to invite you all to attend a fascinating session being held tonight as part of the Nossal Institute for Global Health’s Navigating Health Globally webinar series. With the beautifully alliterative title, Compassion, Care, Complexity & Culture, we will explore how diverse healthcare approaches can tackle limited access to health systems and fragmented care, focusing on shared care as a means to foster person-centred systems as part of person-centred care.

I’m so delighted that I get to open the event with a talk about compassion in healthcare: what it looks like, my own experience of working with remarkably compassionate healthcare professionals, and also, the impact on our experiences of healthcare when compassion is lacking.

The other presenters are remarkable and I am so honoured to offer the lived experience lens on stage with them. You’ll hear from Professor Victor Montori, endocrinologist, researcher and Professor of Medicine at the Mayo Clinic, Duleep Allirajah, CEO of the Richmond Group of Charities (a coalition of 12 national health and care charities), Dr Guy Fones, Head of Global Coordination Mechanism on NCDs, World Health Organization and James Sanderson, Director of Community Health Services and Personalised Care, NHS England. Expect me to be totally fan-girling when Professor Victor Montori is up, speaking about his Patient Revolution (if you don’t have a copy of his book Why We Revolt, add to cart now).

I know that the healthcare experiences I value the most – the ones that have helped me, left me feeling inspired and supported, valued and listened to – have all been founded in compassion. Sadly, it’s not necessarily guaranteed. I’m looking forward to highlighting the experiences, (and the healthcare professionals behind them), that have been powered by compassion. I hope to see you in the (virtual) audience.

Kick off time is 8.00pm AEST, (or 10.00pm NZST, 6.00am EST, 11.00am BST, 12.00pm CEST). It’s free to attend, but you will need to register (to watch live, or stream later at a reasonable hour). Details are here.

[ad_2]

Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here